I think I understand…?

Standard

That is my thought every time I have a conversation. For the people out there who think being an exchange student is easy, you don’t even know the half of it. We post cool pictures on the internet to make you jealous of the adventure but you are only seeing the happy moments, not the daily struggles to function successfully in our foreign country. Don’t misunderstand me I love it here I do not want leave but, I want to try to get through to your empathy and imagine such challenges you have never faced before.

Well, that was a good welcome to my blog πŸ˜‰ Thanks for reading and haha I did in fact make another post before Monday! My box my mom sent me came yesterday while I was ironing my school uniforms, ( my Thai mom she got them monogrammed with my Thai name! Yaada which means Philosopher and my Thai nickname, Tubtim, means like ruby, pomegranate cause the first week I was really red in the face from blushing and the heat so my classmates thought it fight nicely πŸ˜‰ ) so now I am already for school… I should be excited to see my friends but it will sad to watch their faces when they start speaking Thai to me, I have improved greatly over the week with the new family but not ready for a Thai teenage conversation. I am lucky I almost have the 47 characters of the Thai alphabet memorized.

here lets take a picture break! my blog looks boring!

my house! On the side of the street!

my house! And my sister!

whoa wasn’t that exciting? I love my house its so open and comfortable right now I am siting on the couch and it is a comfy as it looks! I spend all day downstairs cause way too hot upstairs. At this moment my sister, P’Pat is at her part-time job as English tutor and Khun Meh is at home doing her teacher work on the computer listening to soothing Thai music. I really love it here and I am bonding with my sister over Japanese cartoons and Korean music. It has been fun!

But back to earlier about the box! I want to thank my best friend Anna for all the amazingly sweet letters you wrote me and I am writing you one so expect to hear from my mom later. And mom and dad and Leighann thanks for getting the Idaho shirts for my family it means a lot to me to give them something. And all the snacks and awesome socks I am trying to figure out if I can get away with wearing them at school. πŸ˜‰ We don’t celebrate Halloween here so I think to socks will have to do. As soon as I say the TARDIS socks I put them on and was sliding around the house in them! So please know my family and friends who helped with box I am grateful!

Lets see what else… OH! right. MY GRANDFATHER IS COMING TO THAILAND!! (explains the count down) I am so psyched to see him! we get to spend to afternoon together! Gosh darn whenever I think about I start bouncing in my seat like a little kid πŸ™‚ And other news I am answering questions for the yearbook so there will be an article about me so everyone should get a yearbook now because it will be wonderful cause of Elizabeth πŸ˜‰ I made this video for this American AFS official who was in Thailand and knew about me and works with Yes Abroad but I think its better now so I will share with you! Later!

With foreign love,

Mary
P.S never mind about the video its not loading but I will share it soon!! sorry to get you excited. :/
P.P.S look hashtags! #AFS #YESABROAD

One response »

Leave a comment