Ah. So I have some explaining to do…

Standard

Yeah, I thing I summed that up real well. A lot of things has happened since I last wrote on this blog that has been very neglected. I am sorry little blog and to my friends and family who worry back home in USA. Lets catch up over the lost time, ok?  Today was 12th day with my new host family. For those of you whom did not know that I changed my Thai host family i did. I changed because of the busy schedule the family had and how we had a large communication challenge, they are in fact a wonderful family I personally think it just was not a good match. So as the Thai’s say, Mai Pben Rai! No worries I am much happier here than I can imagine. The week before I went to English camp to help assist the Thai and foreign teachers at school that a AFS volunteer invited me to join. To say the least it was a lot of fun and I got to see and make some new foreign friends from other AFS students in Thailand and other Thai students from that school. After that I spent two days with a teacher from that school, and I know I sound too up beat but that was great also it was 2 days filled with delicious food that had no meat in it! everything tasted great and tofu can taste really good American reading this! So a side note of this post is don’t be afraid to eat food you don’t know. In the beginning I was surprised at myself at the mental barriers I had to over come just to eat a Thai meal. And over time it gets easier to get out of your comfort zone then soon you are eating squid, fish, sea snails, and all different kinds of Thai noodles and rice!  For my family reading please don’t go into shock about how I was one of the pickiest eaters back home…I know… You all told me so 😉 Anyway after that I meet up with my coordinator and grabbed all my things consisting of one big busted up suitcase, one small suitcase, three backpacks, and a laptop bag and a small purse/travel bag later I met the family I would hopeful love. To be honest with you guys I was so nervous I was near to tears and my adviser got me praying in the back seat. I was so worried I was some how going to mess up this time too. I thought I might never get to feel what its like to have a family here with me to help me go through all my struggles. So far I have been completely wrong. That day I met my sister, P’Pat.( note: Thai culture when referring to an older sibling sister/brother you add P’ to show respect) and she is in the last year in the University and went on exchange a few years ago to USA so I am able to talk to her easily and comfortable. My Thai mom, Khun Meh( Thai pronunciation and also to show respect to close elders add Khun) is a elementary school teacher so my almost nonexistent Thai language skills have improved greatly. But, I know when school starts up next week my Thai friends will be sad I can’t speak fluent yet. My house is “posh” as my american friend called it and I agree its really open and welcoming and so far it still feels the same. After a few days with just the 3 of us my Thai dad, Khun Pah(Thai pronunciation) came home from working in I think now its Laos? as an engineer. I talked to him once before we met on the phone and he tried telling me a joke in Thai, I was so embarrassed I didn’t understand, I quickly said in Thai, sorry I don’t understand and gave the phone back to my mom. After I met him and spent a couple of days together I found out he is really funny and a great father to my new family, I like to think the phone call we had is now a joke between us and when he comes back again in three weeks I am supposed to show I improved my Thai. I look forward to telling him the all the 47 characters of the Thai alphabet, the days of the week and basic conversation to see if I can understand Thai humor. In other news as an AFS student it is no surprise I am getting fat. I am no way ashamed to enjoy Thai food and especially Thai dessert but now that means I have to start excising… I don’t know if you guys back in snowy north Idaho can imagine how freaking hot it gets here so that means I get to wake up at 6 in the morning to get my now jiggling body out of bed and take a run in my village although short time it is sometimes worth the stares I get from the neighbors because I am foreign. I guess I will lead me to clarify somethings about Thailand. Thai culture mostly loves foreigners, I have no idea why but its kinda nice to be treated special just because I am white. Please understand its not a racist belief. It is just a part of their culture that makes them unique. Thai culture believes the opposite of what us Americans think. Being tan is not good here, it means you stay outside all day working in the hot sun and not relaxing inside with air conditioning. When with us staying inside means you work to much and don’t relax outside in the sun. It kinda makes me laugh a little about our thoughts about such things we both do things to our skin to look tan and white when really that just proves the point of how we are alike no matter the differences of the situation and the fact of different parts of the world. Woah, sorry I am rereading what I wrote and its kinda spread out with a bunch of different topics that don’t have good explanations but its late here and I am getting tired. There is so much I need to tell you about everything and I promise on windows 8 laptop I will write again before Monday when school starts back up for me. Aka back to wearing a uniform that makes me look like a barbie Thai style. I like cause I don’t worry about fitting in but seriously a uniform can be annoying. Not Good, Not Bad, Just Different. ;D that was for all you AFSer’s out there who find the motto as cheesy and helpful as ever.
Love everyone goodnight
Mary/tubtim/yaada
P.S that is my English name, Thai nickname. and Thai name. sweet dreams
#AFSThailand #AFS

2 responses »

  1. Im so glad to hear how happy you are..Ive been so worried about you and you haven’t said anything…guess no news was good news…cant wait to hear more…so what does your nickname mean?….love ya!oxoxo.. Kim

Leave a comment